Welcome to Downtown Overland Park, home to the Overland Park Farmers’ Market, a variety of festivals and events, and a wonderful community of shops, restaurants, and service businesses.
Located just off Metcalf between 78th and 83rd streets in the heart of Overland Park, Historic Downtown Overland Park is an integral part of our community's heritage.
Situated on the historic Santa Fe Trail where it originally bustled with horse-drawn traffic, the famous Steam Electric Interurban Railroad Line, gravel streets, a dance hall, restaurant, dry goods store, blacksmith shop, The Aviation Park and other popular amenities that people enjoyed daily.
A century later, Downtown Overland Park's charming past and small town flavor are thriving through a vast array of 300 locally owned and operated shops, where the business owner still waits on you. Services include eateries, antiques, art and gift galleries, specialty shops, and assorted business services.
Prior to incorporation, Overland Park was part of the Mission Urban Township, which included the cities of Mission and Prairie Village.
William B. Strang Jr. 1905
In the early 1990s, city officials focused their efforts on renovating the historic downtown area. The Clock Tower Plaza was dedicated and the Farmers' Market Pavilion was constructed.
To help you discover some of the highpoints for yourself, self-guided tour material is available at the Carriage House, 8445 Santa Fe Drive in the Santa Fe Commons Park and at the Downtown Overland Park Partnership office, 7315 W. 79th Street.
|Strang Aviation Park Pavilion Building 1913
The City of Overland Park traces its roots back to 1905 with the arrival of its founder William B. Strang, Jr., who platted subdivisions along a military roadway. Strang envisioned a "park-like" community that was self-sustaining and well planned. He also sought strong commerce, quality education, vibrant neighborhoods, convenient transportation and accommodating recreational facilities.
Strang platted several subdivisions and named one "Overland Park." Many of his other subdivisions had "Overland" in their names as well. There soon were more than 21 homes and plenty of businesses.
His limestone car barn at 79th and Santa Fe Drive is now the site of Traditions Furniture. The Carriage House at Santa Fe Commons Park, is the site of the Overland Park Historical Society. Each building is open for tours and located within the downtown Overland Park business district.
Before Strang's death in 1921, he established several housing developments, an interurban railroad and an airfield. Remnants from Strang's interurban line remain today.
Downtown Overland Park 1949